Great American Songbook: Alicia Keys—Girl on Fire

Boston, MA, USA ·

Berklee Performance Center 136 Massachusetts Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
· 8:00 pm

Buy Tickets · 15-25

Experience a joyous evening of live music celebrating the rich musical canon of legendary singer-songwriter, pianist, actress, director, producer, author, entrepreneur, and philanthropist Alicia Keys. A classically trained pianist, the 15-time Grammy Award–winning musician exudes both originality and a faithful nod to the greats with her distinctive, soulful vocal style and ebullient spirit. Sharing her impeccable craft for writing classic R&B love songs, jazz-inspired neo-soul melodies, soaring ballads, feel-good motivational anthems, and funky grooves with hip-hop and electronica flourishes, Keys has connected with a wide and eclectic audience, earning accolades around the world.

As a devoted and influential activist, Keys’s socially conscious lyrics tackle a broad range of issues, from women’s empowerment, race, and sexuality to voter registration, the criminal justice system, and the global fight against HIV/AIDS, proving her to be one of the most important musical voices and authentic entertainers of the 21st century.

Produced by Maureen McMullan ’09, this multidisciplinary concert brings together an outstanding global collective of singers, rappers, instrumentalists, arrangers, track producers, dancers, visual artists, and a DJ, all sharing their unique blend of artistry, cultures, and inspired interpretations of Keys’s repertoire. From intimate acoustic treatments to fully orchestrated arrangements, the concert is not just the product of hours of rehearsals, boundary pushing, and fine tuning, it is an exploration of our students’ individual expressivity, diversity, and creative collaboration.

Intermingling brand new songs with some of Keys’s signature hits, the setlist will include “A Woman’s Worth,” “No One,” “You Don’t Know My Name,” “Heartburn,” “Empire State of Mind (Part II) Broken Down,” “If I Ain’t Got You,” “Girl on Fire,” “Underdog,” “A Beautiful Noise,” “Skydive,” “Is It Insane,” “Diary,” “Brand New Me,” “Butterflyz,” “In Common,” “Superwoman,” “Karma,” “Daffodils,” “Another Way to Die,” “Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart,” “How Come You Don’t Call Me,” and “We Are Here.”

  1. Ano Hi Tsunenori "Lee" Abe 2:29
  2. Watashi To Kotori To Suzu To Tsunenori "Lee" Abe 2:46
  3. A New Day (2022) Tsunenori "Lee" Abe 2:53
  4. Time After Time Syncopation 4:54
  5. 誰のために よしのえりか 4:30
  6. 名も無き花 ひまわりラヂオ 4:08
  7. I Can Fly Syncopation 5:44
  8. You've Changed MIZUHO YAHARA 5:05
  9. Still Here Tsunenori "Lee" ABE 4:33
  10. High And Dry Syncopation 4:14
  11. Nightfall Tsunenori "Lee" ABE 3:02
  12. America Syncopation 4:43